Home » How to Deactivate My Facebook Account Guide 2022

How to Deactivate My Facebook Account Guide 2022

by dennis

There is a saying that “whatever has an advantage, has a disadvantage.” Facebook, as we all know, is a fantastic platform that helps millions to connect and share with friends, family, loved ones, and even buy and sell.

Some people believe that Facebook takes a lot of their time, while to some, it intrudes on their privacy. Yet to others, the constant messages, status updates, etc. are what they can’t keep dealing with and wish to deactivate or delete their Facebook account permanently.

If your reason for wanting to deactivate or even delete your Facebook account is because of too many notifications from Facebook, then you might want to control your Facebook notifications.

How to Deactivate a Facebook Account in 10 secs

If you are bent on deactivating or deleting your Facebook account permanently but don’t know how to proceed, then don’t worry, in this guide, we’ll walk you through the process of temporarily deactivating your Facebook account or deleting it permanently if you so desire.

You can deactivate your Facebook account temporarily and choose to come back whenever you want.

To deactivate your account:

  1. Click the account menu arrow at the top right of your Facebook page.
  2. Select Settings & Privacy, then click Settings.
  3. Click your Facebook information in the left column. If you have Facebook access to a page in the new pages experience: click Privacy, then click your Facebook information.
  4. Click Deactivation and Deletion.
  5. Choose Deactivate Account, then click Continue to Account Deactivation and follow the instructions to confirm.

When your account is deactivated:

  • No one else can see your profile.
  • Some information, like messages you sent to friends, may still be visible.
  • Your friends may still see your name on their friends’ list. This is only visible to your friends, and only from their friends’ list.
  • Group admins may still be able to see your posts and comments, along with your name.
  • You will not be able to use your Facebook account to access Oculus products or your Oculus information.
  • Pages that only you control will also be deactivated. If your Page is deactivated, people can’t see your Page or find your Page if they search for it. If you don’t want your Page to be deactivated, you can give someone else full control of your Page. You’ll then be able to deactivate your account without deactivating the Page.

Keep in mind that if you choose to keep Messenger active or are logged into Messenger when you deactivate your Facebook account, then Messenger will remain active.

When your Facebook account is deactivated, but you still have Messenger:

  • You can still chat with friends on Messenger.
  • Your Facebook profile picture will still be visible in your conversations on Messenger.
  • Other people can search for you to send you a message.

How to Reactivate your Facebook Account

If you’d like to come back to Facebook after you’ve deactivated your account, you can reactivate your account at any time by logging back into Facebook or by using your Facebook account to log in somewhere else.

Remember, you’ll need to have access to the email or mobile number you use to log in to complete the reactivation.

How do I permanently delete my Facebook account?

To permanently delete your account:

  1. Click the account menu arrow at the top right of your Facebook page
  2. Select Settings & Privacy, then click Settings.
  3. Click your Facebook information in the left column. If you have Facebook access to a page in the new pages experience: click Privacy, then click your Facebook information.
  4. Click Deactivation and Deletion.
  5. Choose Delete Account, then click Continue to Account Deletion.
  6. Click Delete Account, enter your password, and then click Continue.

What happens if I permanently delete my Facebook account?

  • You won’t be able to reactivate your account.
  • Your profile, photos, posts, videos, and everything else you’ve added will be permanently deleted. You won’t be able to retrieve anything you’ve added.
  • You’ll no longer be able to use Facebook Messenger.
  • You won’t be able to use Facebook Login for other apps you may have signed up for with your Facebook account, like Spotify or Pinterest. You may need to contact the apps and websites to recover those accounts.
  • Some information, like messages you sent to friends, may still be visible to them after you delete your account. Copies of messages you have sent are stored in your friends’ inboxes.
  • If you use your Facebook account to log in to Oculus, deleting your Facebook account will also delete your Oculus information. This includes your app purchases and your achievements. You will no longer be able to return any apps and will lose any existing store credits.
  • Pages that only you control will also be deleted. If you don’t want your Page to be deleted, you can give someone else full control of your Page. You’ll then be able to delete your account without deleting the Page.

How do I Cancel Account Deletion?

If it’s been less than 30 days since you initiated the deletion, you can cancel your account deletion. After 30 days, your account and all your information will be permanently deleted, and you won’t be able to retrieve your information.

It may take up to 90 days from the beginning of the deletion process to delete all the things you’ve posted. While they’re deleting this information, it’s not accessible to other people using Facebook.

To cancel your account deletion:

  1. Log into your Facebook account within 30 days of deleting your account.
  2. Click Cancel Deletion.

I hope you find this article helpful? Thanks for sticking with us all the way end to the post. If you have any questions on this, feel free to drop them in the comment section below and do well to share this post.

You may also like